EunTalk: "Life at Brown University"

Eun-duru

Former Staff
Apr 9, 2017
NorthEast USA
Henloooo everyone!

So, as some of you know (if you keep up with my updates) I am currently at Brown University! I am studying a course called "The Psychology and Philosophy of Happiness". And let me tell you... it isn't as interesting as it sounds.
But besides that, I've been having a pretty nice time!

My schedule consists of only a few events:
8:00 - Wake up
8:45 - Join friends for breakfast
9:20 - Do stuff with friends
11:40 - Sit in my room for 3 hours doing work
3:30 - Class
6:30 - Dinner with friends
7:10 - Do stuff with friends
11:00 - Come back to room, go on laptop
12:00 - Sleep.
So obviously I don't really do much...

But I'd like to update everyone on how I've been doing.
First off, the class is incredibly boring. I thought it would be super interesting, like the class title sounds. Plus, I'm a fan of philosophy, so I thought we would have nice discussions and I would learn to be a happier person. But no.
All we do all class is take notes, which yes, is on interesting topics, however I find it difficult to keep concentration. Our professor is the head of the philosophy department, and he keeps class *spicy* and funny, but at the end of the day it's just notes.
Plus, I have absolutely no friends in this class.
Last year, when I went to Haverford College to take a course in basic philosophy, EVERYONE in my class was my friend. During break-time, we would all play "Spud" together, and it was a blast. But here... no.
To add to that, I only have a small group of friends. All of them are in my hall, and we do everything together. But I have no friends outside of my hall, which is terrible. I guess this is what I signed up for, since I'm a huge introvert. I'm currently sitting in my dorm alone, and I plan on being in here for another 2 hours. But its fine! I get to talk to everyone here, and play video games XD.
Oh, and a little on my roommate.